Wednesday 25th November 2015,
Philippine Election 2013


admin August 7, 2012 Cebu No Comments

The City of Lapu-Lapu is a first class highly urbanized city in the province of Cebu in the Philippines. The city occupies most of Mactan Island, a few kilometer off the main island of Cebu and also covers the Olango Island Group further to the southeast, plus a few other islets. It is part of the Cebu Metropolitan Area. According to the 2010 census, it has a population of about 350,467 people.

The city is linked to Mandaue City on mainland Cebu by the Mactan-Mandaue Bridge and Marcelo Fernan Bridge. Mactan-Cebu International Airport, the second busiest airport in the Philippines, is located in Lapu-Lapu City.

Geo-Political History

From 1907 until 1972, Cebu Province was divided into seven congressional districts that included Cebu City as part of its representation. From 1978 to 1984, it was part of the representation of Region VII, and from 1984 to 1986, it elected 6 assemblymen at-large.

Lapu-Lapu City was part of the Second District of Cebu since the First Philippine Legislature in 1907 until the Seventh Congress in 1972 when it was effectively dissolved with the declaration of martial law on September 23, 1972 by President Ferdinand Marcos. Marcos then exercised legislative powers. In 1976, Congress was replaced by the Batasang Bayan as the Philippines’ legislative body until 1978, when it was replaced by the Batasang Pambansa.

The following towns were part of the Second District of Cebu (1907-1972) :

  1. Cebu (became city 1936)
  2. Liloan
  3. Mandaue (became city 1969)
  4. Opon (converted to Lapu-Lapu City 1961)
  5. Cordova (re-established 1912)
  6. Compostela (re-established 1919)
  7. Consolacion (re-established 1920)

During the Eighth Congress of the Philippines after the ratification of the Constitution of the Philippines in 1987, Lapu-Lapu City became part of the new re-districting of Cebu Province.

The following towns and cities were part of the Sixth District of Cebu (1987-2010) :

  1. Lapu-Lapu City
  2. Mandaue City
  3. Consolacion
  4. Cordova

The passage of Republic Act 9726 separated the highly-urbanized city of Lapu-Lapu from the sixth district to form its own congressional district starting in the 2010 elections.


Lapu-Lapu City is politically subdivided into 30 barangays.

  • Agus
  • Babag
  • Bankal
  • Baring
  • Basak
  • Buaya
  • Calawisan
  • Canjulao
  • Caw-oy
  • Cawhagan
  • Caubian
  • Gun-ob
  • Ibo
  • Looc
  • Mactan
  • Maribago
  • Marigondon
  • Pajac
  • Pajo
  • Pangan-an
  • Población (Opon)
  • Punta Engaño
  • Pusok
  • Sabang
  • Santa Rosa
  • Subabasbas
  • Talima
  • Tingo
  • Tungasan
  • San Vicente

Support Philippineelection 2013


We are husband & wife (Mr & Mrs C.), The dynamic duo in Online Marketing and Social Media,We love to make ideas come to life. Our passion is to serve the Filipino people by creating simple, beautiful & effective ideas that will make you stand out from the crowd.

More PostsWebsite